Present Director Prof. - WAMAN KENDRE

An eminent theatre personality with a graduation in Arts and a one-year proficiency certification course in Dramatics from Dr. Ambedkar Marathwada University, Aurangabad, NSD alumnus Prof. Waman Kendre, prior to joining NSD, served as Professor and Director, Academy of Theatre Arts, University of Mumbai (2003 – 2013).

His teaching experience spans almost thirty years, and he has conducted more than two hundred and fifty workshops on varying aspects of theatre, in India and abroad (America, Mauritius). He has done practice-oriented research on the Folk and Ritualistic Theatre of Kerala, and had been a Research Associate with the Theatre Development Centre, NCPA, Mumbai, for nine and a half years. He has been actively involved in administrative and organizational running of reputable organizations like NCPA, University of Mumbai, and Rangpeeth, Mumbai.

He has held positions of eminence in advisory committees and governing councils including Vision Plan Committee (NSD), Rajya Marathi Vikas Sanstha (Govt. of Maharashatra), Advisory Committee Dept. of Drama (Rajasthan University, Jaipur), Governing Council & Executive Committee (West Zonal Cultural Centre, Udaipur), Academic Council (Univ. of Mumbai), Vision Plan Committee (Govt. of Goa), Advisory Committee for All India Radio & Doordarshan (Govt. of India), Society of Governing Council (SRFTII). He is also a member of XIth Five Year Plan Performing Arts, Planning Commission, Govt. of India.

His productions Zulwa(2005), Madhyam Vyayog (2004), Jannemann (NSD Rep. 2002), Tempt Me Not (NCPA, 1992), Nati Goti (1990), Gadhe Ki Barat (SRC, 1988), Ladi Nazariya (NSD, 1994), Saiyyan Bhaye Kotwal and Rajdarshan (with IPTA, Mumbai – 1985 & ‘86) are still considered to be landmarks owing to their sensitive approach towards the sufferings of those sections of society that are rarely talked about. His play ‘Char Divas Premache’ celebrated its 1000th show on 1st may 2009. He holds an unbroken record for being the single person to win all three positions for Best Play & Best Director, at the Government of Maharashtra State Professional Drama Competition in 1989.

His multifarious contribution in the field of theatre have been acknowledged with various awards including the National Award conferred by the President of India for Theatre Direction (Sangeet Natak Akademi, 2012), the first Manohar Singh Smriti Puraskar (Instituted by NSD & the Ministry of Culture, Govt. of India, for outstanding multifaceted contribution to the field of Theatre Arts, 2004), the Mumbai Marathi Granth Sangrahalaya Award (1989), Eight times Maharastra Govt. State Award, Sahyog Foundation Award (1999), Marathwada Gaurav Award (2002), Maharashtra Times Award (2006), Natya Darpan Awards (1989, 1992, 1996), Padmshri Daya Pawar Smriti Puraskar (2007), and State Award for Best Music (Priya Bawari, 2012) among others.